This was an effect I created for a King Black Acid music video I directed in Portland, Oregon back in the day. We shot at Dantes, and one of the videographers, Tom Frisch had rotated in a 360 around talent. Using my mouse I scratched the footage like a DJ and dropped it back to tape, then slowed it down to create this.

In 2003, Portlandia producer David Cress, knowing I wanted to work with The Dandy Warhols and having seen some of my stuff – was kind enough to get me brought onto The Last High music video as a creative consultant. We put some of my scratching effect in the video. Andrews Jenkins directed the video and Dennis Fitzgerald edited.

The Scratch Effect

Leave a Reply

