Synchronizing Ratatat

Back in 2004 when Ratatat released their debut album, I thought it would be cool to direct a music video to 17 Years featuring synchronized swimmers.

A co-worker at the time, Jessica Vacek mentioned I should check out some Esther Williams. So I ended up at a Hollywood Video and rented Million Dollar Mermaid on VHS. I scrubbed through it and found a fantastic sequence choreographed by Busby Berkeley. Colored smoke, swimmers launching into the water from great heights – they just don’t make ’em like they used to. My plan was to pitch the band on the idea of shooting a synchronized swimming video with me, by synching some footage up to their song. However, I had no idea how well it would actually synch. This, my friends, is magic…

Leave a Reply

