Do it anyway…

AAEAAQAAAAAAAAngAAAAJDgyYmFhYWRlLTQzY2EtNDM5NS04NWJiLTg2MDg0ZjI0ZjQyNA

“If you don’t go on the adventure, you don’t grow on the adventure.” – J.Lowe

Last summer, my girlfriend and I packed everything we could fit into a couple of suitcases, donated my car, got a travel carrier for the dog, put our remaining stuff in storage, and said goodbye to our friends and family. We boarded a plane and as it took off, Portland, Oregon, became a part of our past.

For months before we moved I was scared. I’d be moving away from everything I knew, and moving to the East Coast without a job lined up. My girlfriend would be attending an art school.

It didn’t help that we hadn’t secured an apartment until a week before we left. We’d also be moving into it without seeing it in person.

But a funny thing happens when you have friends that support your wild plans and dreams, even if it means they’ll get to hang out with you less. Those wild plans and dreams can work out.

We landed in Philadelphia and started a new chapter. I have a job now, my girlfriend’s producing paintings and meeting amazing artists from New York. And right now I’m at a bar about to meet up with an old friend.

On the way here this evening I took an Uber. The woman and I had a great conversation about being positive. She said she was thinking about moving out of state like I did, but it’s scary to move away from family etc.

She pulled over to let me out. I opened the door and paused. “I was scared to move and enter the unknown but when we got on the plane all that went away. It’s scary, but do it anyways.” She thanked me and drove off.

Leave a Reply

